The best way to find community in NAS is to connect with the affiliate nearest to you. We have affiliates in 46 states and in Washington, D.C. Many hold events where you can meet other NAS members, network, and share your voice. Get in touch by contacting affiliate presidents, listed by state below.

The best way for members to find community through NAS is to connect with the affiliate nearest to you. We have affiliates in 46 states, and the District of Columbia. (We also have a “sister organization” in Canada, the Society for Academic Freedom and Scholarship.) Many of them hold meetings and events where you can meet other NAS members, network, and share your voice.

[Note: the City University of New York Association of Scholars (CUNYAS) is technically a chapter of the New York Association of Scholars (NYAS).]

You can get in touch with any affiliate by contacting its president. All affiliate presidents are listed by state below.

 

ALABAMA

Pres.: Michael S Loop
University of Alabama
924 Eighteenth St, South
Birmingham, AL 35294
205-934-6751
loop@alabamascholars.org
loop@uab.edu 

 

ALASKA

Pres: Judith Kleinfeld
759 Cranberry Ridge
Fairbanks, AK
99712-1102
907-474-5266 office
kleinfel@alaska.net

 

ARIZONA

Pres: Daniel I. Asia
University of Arizona
5230 N. Apache Hills Trail
Tucson AZ 85750
520-203-1660
520-529-0531/fax
asia@u.arizona.edu


ARKANSAS

Pres: Sandra Stotsky
202 Graduate Education Building
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR 72701
479-575-7282
sstotsky@aol.com

 

CALIFORNIA

President: John M Ellis
144 Bay Heights
Soquel, CA 95073
831-476-1144
831-476-1188/fax
john.ellis@earthlink.net
Chairman: Charles L Geshekter
Department of History
California State University
Chico, CA 95929
530-343-7097
chollygee@earthlink.net


COLORADO

Pres: Charles L. King
2870 Duke Circle
Boulder, CO 80305
303-499-7547
cking130@gmail.com


CONNECTICUT

Chairman: Jay A. Bergman
Department of History
Ctrl Conn State Univ.
P.O. Box 4010
New Britain, CT
06050-4010
860-832-2811
860-667-9499/hm fax
bergmanj@ccsu.edu

 

DELAWARE

President: Jan H. Blits
School of Education
219B Willard Hall
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716-5699
302-831-1649
jblits@udel.edu 

 

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

President: A Graham Down
4000 Cathedral Av, NW
Number 152B
Washington, DC 20016
202-333-8258
agdown@msn.com

 

FLORIDA

Acting Pres: Michael D Grimes
Miami-Dade College
School of Justice
11380 NorthWest 27th Ave
Miami, FL
33167-3495
305-237-1411
mgrimes@mdc.edu  


GEORGIA

Pres: Ann Hartle
Philosophy Dept;
Emory University
Atlanta, GA 30322
404-727-0105
ahartle@emory.edu 


HAWAII

President: James Roumasset
Department of Economics
University of Hawaii at Manoa
2424 Maile Way
514 Saunders Hall
Honolulu, HI 96822-2281
808-956-7496
808-956-4347/fax
jimr@hawaii.edu

 

IDAHO

President: Scott Yenor
Dept of Political Science
Mail Stop: 1935
Boise State University
1910 University Drive
Boise, ID 83725
208-426-2388
syenor@boisestate.edu 

 

ILLINOIS

President: Jonathan J Bean
1606 Morning Dew Court
Carterville, IL 62918-1996
618-453-7872
618-453-5440/fax
jonbean@siu.edu

 

INDIANA

President: Robert H. Heidt
Indiana University
School of Law, Rm 266
211 So. Indiana Ave.
Bloomington, IN
47405-7001
812-855-7272
812-855-0555/fax
heidt@indiana.edu

 

IOWA

President: Donald P
Racheter
600 North Jackson
Mt. Pleasant, IA 52641
319-385-3462
319-385-3799/fax
racheter@limitedgovernment.org

 

KANSAS

President: Marsha L. Frey
Department of History
208 Eisenhower Hall
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506-1002
temporary phone 406-251-2000
785-532-7004/fax
mfrey@ksu.edu 

 

KENTUCKY

President: Monica J. Kern
Department of Psychology
220-a, Kastle Hall
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0044
859-257-6842
859-323-1979/fax
harris@email.uky.edu

 

LOUISIANA

Pres: William F Campbell
3914 Broussard Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
225-927-2042
225-922-9959/fax
wcampbell14@cox.net

 

MAINE

Pres: Michael Palmer
Dept of Political Science
Univ of Maine - Orono
5754 N. Stevens Hall
Orono, ME
04469-5754
207-581-1879
207-581-4856/fax
michael_palmer@umit.maine.edu

 

MARYLAND

Pres.: Duane C. Ellison
History/Poli-Sci Dept.
Humanities Building
Room 263
Montgomery College
51 Mannakee St.
Rockville, MD
20850-1199
301-251-7286
301-251-7278/fax
ellison13@verizon.net 

 

MASSACHUSETTS

Dr. Douglas A. Sears
Boston University
61 Bay State Rd. #5
Boston MA 02215
dsears@bu.edu
617-267-7731 or 617-358-1360

 

MICHIGAN

Pres.: Paul Moreno
78 West Lynnwood Blvd
Hillsdale, MI
49242-1962
517-607-2578
pmoreno@hillsdale.edu

 

MINNESOTA

President: Terrence F Flower
Dept of Physics
College of St. Catherine
2004 Randolph Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55105
651-690-6598
651-690-8657/fax
tfflower@stkate.edu

 

MISSISSIPPI

President: Frank Glamser
36 Summer Place
Hattiesburg, MS 39402
601-264-2975
fglamser@earthlink.net

 

MISSOURI

Pres: Dean Monahan
2021 Steven Drive
Cape Girardeau, MO
63701
573-334-6976
dmonahan@semo.edu

 

NEBRASKA

President: Edward A. Rauchut
Bellevue University
1000 Galvin Road, South
Bellevue, NE 68005-3098
402-293-3701
402-293-2035/fax
erauchut@bellevue.edu 

 

NEVADA

Pres: David S. Fott
Political Science Dept
Univ of Nevada
P.O. Box 455029
Las Vegas, NV
89154-5029
702-895-4187
dfott@unlv.nevada.edu

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE

President: James Tucker
50 South School St, Unit 1
Portsmouth, NH 03801
603-430-2838
603-862-1814/fax
jetucker@hopper.unh.edu

 

NEW JERSEY

Pres.: George Zilbergeld
24 Ellis Street
Freehold, NJ 07728
732-431-1047
zilbergeldg@mail.montclair.edu
Codirector: Brian Smith
Poli Sci & Law Dept
Montclair State University
One Normal Avenue
Montclair, NJ 07043
973-655-7223
smithbr@mail.montclair.edu

 

NEW MEXICO

Coordinator: Greg Butler
MSC 3BN
New Mexico State University
PO Box 30001
Las Cruces, NM 88003
505-522-3931
505-646-4935
gbutler@nmsu.edu

 

NEW YORK

Pres: David Gordon
Bronx Comm College - CUNY
History Department
University Ave & West 181st St.
Bronx, NY 10453
718-289-5658 office
347-743-2342 cell
dmgordon@mindspring.com
City University Chapter
Chair: Dorothy Lang
Business Dept.
3N-219
CUNY-Staten Island
2800 Victory Blvd.
Staten Island, NY 10314-6600
718-982-2927
cunyas@earthlink.net

 

NORTH CAROLINA

President: Robert Rosthal
P.O. Box 4846
Greensboro, NC 27404-4846
336-299-3873
336-299-7932/fax
rrosthal@ aol.com


OHIO

President: George W. Dent, Jr.
School of Law
Case Western Reserve University
11075 East Blvd
Cleveland, OH 44106-5409
216-368-3311
216-368-2086
george.dent@case.edu 

 

OKLAHOMA

President: Andrew C.
Spiropoulos
Oklahoma City University
School of Law
2501 N. Blackwelder Ave
Oklahoma City, OK
73106-1493
405-521-5801
405-521-5089/fax
aspiropoulos@okcu.edu  

 

OREGON

President: Glen E Thurow
P.O. Box 1366
Portland, OR 97465
541-332-4047
972-265-5739
gthurow@udallas.edu

 


PENNSYLVANIA

President: Michael P Krom
617 Chestnut Street
Latrobe, PA 15650
724-805-2844
215-635-0954/fax
michael.krom@email.stvincent.edu

 

RHODE ISLAND

President: William Felkner
14 High Street.
Ashaway, RI 02804
401-474-1893
401-427-0286/fax
billfelkner@cox.net

 

SOUTH CAROLINA

Pres: Christina Jeffrey
801 Palmetto Street
Spartanburg, SC 29302
864-948-1297
rcjeffrey@charter.net

 

TENNESSEE

President: James Summerville
Independent Scholar
208 McCreary Heights
Dickson, TN
37055
866-828-3388
mapheus@prodigy.net 

 

TEXAS

President: Robert C Koons
Philosophy Department.
1 University Station C3500
University of Texas
Austin, TX 78712-1180
(512) 471-5530
(512) 471-4806/fax
robkoons@yahoo.com

 

UTAH

President: Royal Skousen
Dept of Linguistics & English Lang
4037 JFSB
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602
801-422-3482
royal_skousen@byu.edu  

 

VERMONT

President: Laurie Morrow
15 Deerfield Drive
Montpelier, VT 05602-2126
802- 229-9208
lpmorrow@msn.com 

 

VIRGINIA

President: Hans C. Rott
407 Patrick Henry Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24060
540-552-0858
540-552-5531
rott@vt.edu

 

WASHINGTON

President: Alex Myrick
21221 4th Place South
Des Moines, WA 98198
206-824-3355
myrick_4@msn.com

 

WEST VIRGINIA

Pres: Robert K Griffith
Department of Basic Pharmaceutical Sciences
School of Pharmacy
West Virginia University
Box 9530
Morgantown, WV 26506
304-293-1481
304-293-2576/fax
rgriffith@hsc.wvu.edu

 

WISCONSIN

President: Thomas L Drucker
Math & Computer Sci
Univ of Wisconsin
800 West Main St
Whitewater, WI 53190
262-472-5173
druckert@uww.edu

 

FOREIGN

Society for Academic Freedom and Scholarship
President:
Clive R. Seligman
1673 Richmond St.
Number 344
London, Ontario
N6G 2N3
CANADA
519-661-2111 x 84666
519-661-3961/fax
safs@safs.ca
druckert@uww.edu