First Annual Oregon Campus Freedom Awards


New York, NY (June 13, 2019) — The National Association of Scholars (NAS) is proud to recognize Blake Horner and Philip Arola, the first-ever recipients of the Oregon Campus Freedom Awards. These awards are given by the Oregon Association of Scholars (OAS) to students who expand freedoms and intellectual diversity on Oregon campuses.

Blake Horner is a member of the Portland State Freethinkers, a group of students promoting public discussion on various issues from physician-assisted suicide to colonizing Mars.

According to OAS president Bruce Gilley, “PSU Freethinkers is unique on Oregon college campuses for the breadth and openness of its public discussions.”

Philip Arola is president of the Portland State Campus Republicans. His contribution to campus freedom has taken a national course after one of PSU Campus Republican’s events was disrupted by radicals. OAS notes that Arola was present at the White House when President Trump signed an Executive Order requiring public institutions of higher education to protect free speech.

NAS applauds Horner and Arola in their efforts to introduce intellectual diversity, free inquiry, and the pursuit of truth on campuses that have long forgotten these principles. The NAS also congratulates Bruce Gilley and the OAS on their first annual Oregon Campus Freedom Awards.


If you would like more information about the awards, please contact Dr. Bruce Gilley, OAS President, at [email protected]; Chance Layton at 917-551-6770 or [email protected]

  • Share